Li Wei. Fly Me to the Moon

li-wei-fly-me-to-the-moon-2

The second edition of Photo Shanghai 2015 opened on Friday with the performance of two renowned Chinese contemporary artists, Li Wei and Bonnie Tchien Hwen-Ying, a mesmerizing performance that defies gravity and preconceptions about the boundaries of art.

li-wei-fly-me-to-the-moon-1

The performance Fly Me To The Moon is a modern adaptation of the famous Chinese legend of the Lady of the Moon named Chang’e who became immortal by joining the moon, the place where she lives for more than 2500 years.

li-wei-fly-me-to-the-moon-6

The performance of Li Wei and Bonnie Tchien Hwen-Ying curated by Ludovic De Vita and Wang Lingyun symbolizes the perfect harmony by fusing the extremes. “’My artistic language is universal and deals with themes about contemporary politics and society using symbols understood by everyone in every part of the world. I am fascinated by the unstable and dangerous sides of art and I hope my works reflect these aspects,” Li Wei stated about his body of works.

li-wei-fly-me-to-the-moon-5

Li Wei is well-known for his unique manner of mixing photography with performance art and thus creating illusory and in the same time extraordinary worlds. “My goal is to make everything impossible possible, I hope one day I can shoot on the moon with a rocket,” Li Wei stated.

li-wei-fly-me-to-the-moon-3

Photo credits: Photo Shanghai 

Leave a Reply

