Cecilia Paredes. Blending in the environment

cecilia paredes

In her latest work, Archivo Natural, the Peruvian artist Cecilia Paredes recreates the connection between the female body and nature, restoring the magical and creative capacities of the human body, characteristics lost in the technological and alienated world we are all living.

cecilia-paredes

Paredes makes use of body painting, wallpaper and fabrics to create fascinating and most of all alive works of art where the subject, her own body, is also the medium that bares the message.

cecilia_paredes

“I wrap, cover or paint my body with the same pattern of the material and re-present myself as part of that landscape. Through this act, I am working on the theme of building my own identification with the entourage or part of the world where I live or where I feel I can call home. My bio has been described as nomadic so maybe this is also a need of addressing the process of constant relocation. There is also the factor in my mind that flora as we know it, is coming to be endangered so with all these preoccupations, I think that in these works, aesthetics bind with the anthropologic in order to register fragments of personal and social memory.” Cecilia Paredes

cecilia_paredes1

Photo credits: Cecilia Paredes

Leave a Reply

